TRP Lifestyle | Recipes | French Toast

BREAKFAST CLUB - French Toast-1081

Hello! It’s almost mid-August, which means I’ve been in Medical School approximately two months. The other day a friend visited the restaurant (which is in Petron Katipunan, next to the La Vista gate, and we are open from 10AM to 10PM, ok plug is over), and saw me studying my Anatomy book, and said to me: “You’re in med??”

The surprise was completely understandable, but funny, as despite my being in school full time for more than two months, it has not completely disregarded my identity/cakexistence. (Not a surprise really considering the ratio of med to cupcake posts is like 1:10)

I don’t get to cake as often now, but I’m pretty happy how much of TRP I brought with me to Sta. Mesa. (I’ve also moved there during the weekdays, and keep my own little quaint place, which really really looks like it could be a part of The Royal Piccadilly)

As much as I am enjoying medschool, I miss the mess of the kitchen, so recently I invited some friends over and I cooked french toast for breakfast. (Breakfast can be liked to a rare pokemon in medschool) It’s different cooking in your own kitchen. I had to clean up as I cooked, multi-tasked preparing for school, in the middle of toast-flippage. The smell of maple syrup clung to every piece of my room (even my hair), but it was really worth waking up early for. I know I won’t be able to cook a lot (nor blog) as school demands 110% of me (and the restaurant demands another 90%—I am obviously bad at math), but I know I’ll be trying my best to make time for it, because the kitchen really is a great place to be me.

I came across this recipe a couple of years back, and prepared it for my undergraduate classmates as well. The original recipe calls for half-and-half, but we obviously don’t have that in the Philippines, so milk and cream works fine. If cooking for yourself, it’s easy to divide the recipe in half. French Toast isn’t sensitive, and it’s fast to make, so no worries about screwing it up.

I hope you find time to try it, and find it as tasty as I (and my friends) did!

Lisane

BREAKFAST CLUB - French Toast-10791. Microwave honey for 20 seconds, and in a medium mixing bowl, add milk-cream, salt, eggs, and honey. Whisk together, until all the ingredients have combined. (You can do this the night before, and store in the fridge to be used in the morning.)

2. Dip bread in mixture, 30 seconds per side, and rest on a cooling rack for about 1 to 2 minutes to get rid of excess batter.

3. On medium heat, melt a tablespoon of butter in a  saute/frying pan, and cook each side of the dipped bread for about 2 minutes on each side, or until golden brown.

4. Serve with maple syrup, fresh fruit, and/or ice cream!

adapted from: Alton Brown’s French Toast Recipe

 

One comment

Leave a Reply

